The dust settles on another Premier league campaign. An era-defining season which changed a lot of things you thought you knew about the most-watched league in the world.

 The relegation, mid-table and top four race had been all but sorted ahead of the final day. Leaving the title race to the fantastic duo as well as the golden boot award, incredibly shared by three of Africa’s finest. Liverpool’s extraordinary 97 points would have won them the title in just about every season until the last two; but were surpassed by a solitary point by Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City.

Mohammed Salah, Sadio Mané and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang shared the golden boot award. The first time it has been shared since 2010/2011. Credit: Getty Images 

 While Liverpool seemed worthy winners, resilient City were operating on immortal levels.

 The mancunians secured back-to-back titles, the first time in a decade; and affirmed their place as the greatest Champions in Premier league history. Manchester United’s 1999 treble-winners and Arsenal’s invincibles did not win this much. An amazing total of 198 points in the last two seasons combined shows how Guardiola’s men became relentless winners.

Betway Nigeria

 City always played with pressure, five of their final 11 victories were secured by a one-goal margin. The mental strength and winning mentality in this side was there for all to see; Liverpool made a wonderful push for the title, City were even better. It is truly remarkable to think that Jürgen Klopp’s men lost only once all season but still finished second. It goes back to the draw against Leicester after City had lost to Newcastle, or perhaps John Stones’ goal-line clearance in Liverpool’s only defeat to City.

Guardiola has now retained the title in Spain, Germany and England. Credit: AFP

 It took incredibly fine margins to win this title and Guardiola is famed for obsessive attention to detail.

It will be 30 years since the reds’ last league triumph when the new season kicks off in 89 days. They are unfortunate to have had to contend with a superior force like this City team. Whose fourth title in eight seasons isn’t as glorious as the total of some clubs, but is certainly a benchmark in the modern-day era.

Liverpool would be proud of an unbelievably competitive title race. Credit: Liverpool FC via Getty Images. 

 Sergio Aguero once again provided important goals, Raheem Sterling was immense and has gone up another level in his career. Bernardo Silva was the revelation of the season replacing injury-prone Kevin De Bruyne while İlkay Gündoğan seamlessly replaced Fernandinho when he was stricken. Oleksandr Zinchenko excelled at left-back in the midst of absences and Aymeric Laporte was an outstanding defender in the league. They all had Ederson Moraes who kept them alive with his shot-stopping, and kept play ticking over with his distribution.

Manchester City players at Full-time. Credit: Glyn Kirk/AFP

 Despite continental disappointment, City are on the cusp of a first-ever domestic treble in the FA cup final against Watford. Liverpool on the other hand, could seal an incredible season with Champions league triumph. That combined with a 97-points haul in the Premier League puts City’s excellence into perspective.

Pep Guardiola’s men are true winners, the greatest the Premier League has ever seen; and Liverpool pushed them to the realms of greatness.

 Certainly, there’s only a top two in The Premier League, followed by another four then the rest of the league.


Bolu Alabi-Hundeyin

Chief Editor of the Football Castle, Bolu Alabi-Hundeyin is a football junkie and writer of the beautiful game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Blog Meets Brand